The First to Fall…

Special K lost her first tooth yesterday.

Image

Yeah, I know that I am supposed to be happy about this. I know that I am supposed to be thrilled that my little girl is growing up but damn it I’m NOT! I’m not ready for her to be all grown up. My heart is still stuck on the days when Hub and I were so happy about that same tooth popping its shiny white head through her gum line. Now, those baby grins with two teeth are being replaced by toothless grins with holes where my heart should be.

I feel like this marks the end of a cycle for her, the loss of the last of the baby in her. No more, “Mommy Please”, just lots of “I got it” and “I can do it myself”. Pretty soon, she won’t need us at all.

She starts school in the fall. We registered her yesterday. (It was a pretty big day for her)

Everyone says that by the time your kids start school you will be so ready for them to go it’s not funny. That may be the case for Hub (since he has been the stay at home parent) but for me, it’s something different. I have been the working parent for her entire life. I have already missed so much and now she is moving into the care of yet another adult. I know that she will have loads of fun, make lots of new friends, yadda, yadda, yadda.. but I want my baby to stay home. I don’t want her to grow up so fast.

All that being said, I know that there is nothing that I can do to slow down time. I can’t put a brick on her head and stop her from growing. My head accepts that but my heart wants to bury my nose in her head and snuggle her close.

Instead, I sprayed a dollar with glitter and played tooth fairy.

Image

1 Comment

June 28, 2012 · 6:32 pm

One response to “The First to Fall…

  1. Angela Farmer

    awesome idea with the glitter!!

Leave a Reply

