Another Extremely Easy Recipe

Crispy Onion Coated Chicken with Gravy and Loaded Mashed Potatoes 15 Min prep, 20 Min Cook.

First off, let me apologize for the poor photo quality. My  real camera went dead so I was forced to use the camera on my phone, which is less than optimal. Of course, the one time I have the presence of mind to take pics through out the process, I am without the right tools.

This recipe is another of our every-other-week eats. It’s super easy and pretty cheap to put together.  We usually have enough leftovers for Hub to take it to work for lunch, so that’s a Win as well.

Here’s what you need to put this together- 

 2-3 Chicken Breast, Split and Tenderized  (I picked up a bag of Frozen, Split, Pre-Tenderized chicken breast from my local grocery store for $4.49 on sale. It was cheaper than fresh and had about 8 pieces of Chicken in it. We used 4 pieces.)

1/2  Cup of Flour (depending on how many pieces you are making)

1 Egg, Beaten in a Shallow Bowl

1 Container of French’s Crispy Onions

Salt and Pepper

9×13 Baking Pan

2 Gallon Size Ziploc Bags

 First things first, pre-heat your oven to 400 F.  (Again, be sure to check your oven for anything in it before you turn it on. I usually forget that step) 

Put a few Tbs of Flour, Salt and Pepper into one of your Ziploc Bags. The other Ziploc Bag gets the Crispy Onions. You should use about 1/4 of the container at a time. Crush the Onions up once they are in the bag.

Rinse a piece of your chicken breast and dab it mostly dry with a paper towel.

Shake the chicken in the bag of flour until it is fully coated. (If you have kids, I suggest letting them help with the shaking part. Make sure the bag is fully closed before doing so. Special K likes to sing the Shake-Shake song. The lyrics include “Shake, Shake, Shake- Shake it up, Shake Shake Shake- Shake it down, Shake Shake Shake- Shake it all around. She wrote it herself. I’m quite proud) 

Next, drag your chicken through the egg until it is all covered.

 

 

This is what it looks like in the process. (Pretty pink princess bowl is not a requirement) 

 After coating your Chicken in Egg, toss it in the other Ziploc Bag with the Onions. Once it is fully coated, Place the chicken in the baking pan. (I like to line mine with foil to eliminate any serious clean up) 

Once you have coated all of the Chicken in the Flour and Onions, Pop the Pan in the Pre-heated oven for 20 minutes.

While it’s cooking, enjoy the wonderful smells and feel free to enjoy some more verses of the Shake Shake Song. You know you want to .

After it’s done cooking, it should look something like this.

Mmmmm, It’s all Golden Brown and Crispy.

Now, I have never and will never claim to be a gourmet cook. Yes, I work in catering but that just means that I have a kitchen full of wonderful guys who do all the cooking and clean up for me. Looking at all the work they do makes me appreciate it even more when I can get some of the better quality “Ready Made” items on sale.

This week, I had picked up some Betty Crocker Frozen, Loaded Packet Potatoes on a BOGO Deal and I had Coupons, making them less than $2.00 per bag. They are super easy, just dump the bag into a microwave safe bowl and stick them in the Nuke Box for 8-10 minutes.

I also had a cup of Knorr Homestyle Concentrated Chicken Stock so I put that in a small sauce pan with 1 cup of Water, 1/2 cup Milk and 2 Tbs Flour. If you remember my previous post, you will want to use a fork to mix the Milk and Flour in a small container before adding it to the Water and Stock. This will keep it from being chunky.  A traditional Roux also has a fat in it, but I find the chicken stock has enough oils in it that I don’t need to add any more.
Once you add the Roux to the Stock and Water, keep stirring it on Medium until it thickens to your desired gravy-ness.

The only thing left to do is to put your plate together and enjoy!

One last side note- This is the first time that I have actually used the Flour and Egg to coat the chicken. I usually just toss the damp chicken breast directly in the onions. After much deliberation, The Hub and Special K have decided that they like it better that way. The flour and Egg helped coat the chicken more fully, but it also made it less crispy than the onions alone. It’s very tasty, either way. 

Leave a comment

Filed under My Kid Actually Eats That, New Recipes

Leave a Reply

