A whole lotta nothin’

A few days ago Hubs woke up early and started cleaning the house. While the baby and I were sleeping he managed to do two loads of laundry, a load of dishes, pick up the living room and a number of other chores. It took him two hours.
When I woke up I was immensely greatfull for all the help. His response was to tease me about how I do nothing around the house and to make comments about how I spend my days sitting on the couch.
Needless to say, I was hurt by this. I will admit, I do have days where I am stuck on the couch or in the bed and I am not able to do much in the way of chores. He may see this as doing nothing. I see it as spending my day dealing with a screaming baby who has terrible gas pain. I see it as having my heart torn out for hours because my child is hurting and I don’t know what to do about it.
Most days, I don’t have 15 minutes to brush my hair or take a shower, let alone the two hours it took him to clean the house.
I am sure the he didn’t mean to hurt my feelings when he made those comments but it still stung. I struggle with my place in the family on a daily basis. It is my opinion, for what it’s worth, that when I made the decision to stay home instead of going back to work, I took up the commitment to take care of the household responsibilities. I have written before about my issues with guilt when I am not able to get things done the way I think they should be.
I guess what I am getting at is this- While I was on Facebook today I found this post from Big City Moms called New moms get nothing done. To quote the post- “There is no greater task than the nothing you did yesterday, the nothing you are doing today, and the nothing you will do tomorrow.” I needed to read that. I needed it a lot.
I may be doing “nothing” in the way of house work. The laundry may be piled on the couch and the dishwasher may be full with last nights dishes but I am creating a life long bond with my son and I would not give that up for anything.

1 Comment

Filed under LIfe, Parenting, Uncategorized

One response to “A whole lotta nothin’

  1. Pat your husband on the head and tell him you’re not sure how you’d manage without him. Truth is you’re raising two boys and they both need your love and validation. I learned that lesson through grinding teeth and biting sarcasm. Now I use my outside voice for gratitude and my inside my head voice for the more entertaining dialogue. That is until I started my blog….and now it’s all bets are off.

Leave a Reply

