The Man-sandwich

Sunday night is sandwich night. I try to mix it up and do a different melt/grilled/awesomeness between two slices every week. My sandwich recipes are on a 6 week rotation with the rest of our dinners cause I’m anal like that.
The French dip, Patty melt and Philly cheese are extremely popular with the Hub so when I came across the Pioneer Woman recipe for the Marlboro Man sandwich I was excited to see the combined all three of them into one glorious bun.

This weekend I was feeling creative so I figured, what the hell? I’ll give the recipe to try. Sure, I have my reservations about cooking cube steak, which gets way to chewy if cooked for too long or adding too much Tabasco sauce to the gravy but  I was swayed by the many positive reviews. In hindsight, I wish there had been one that reminded me of what it’s like to cook with a 2 month old.

Chopping onions is a real challenge when you have a baby strapped to your chest. It should have occurred to me that the onions making my eyes burn like hell where probably searing through his tiny corneas as well. The meat over cooked while I was trying to console him and I completely forgot about the bun while I was dealing with the meat. Ooops.

dea9484da69efddbb94130af376ca5deYeah, mine looked nothin’ like that.
Unfortunately for me my sandwich turned out a bit like shoe leather on a log. No amount of special sauce was going to save that mess.  My jaw is still sore from gnawing through the meat.

Despite the sandwich being a complete disaster Tony ate every last bite it was in that pan. I guess it’s a man pleaser after all.

Final ranking – 3 nom’s (due to my own fault, the flavor and recipe was fantastic)

If you would like to give it a shot of your own, you can find the recipe here. Check out her other recipes while you’re at it.

Leave a comment

Filed under My Kid Actually Eats That, New Recipes

Leave a Reply

